What Are the Four Birds in the World That Can’t Fly?

Here are the four birds so far in the world that cannot fly at all. Which are the Kiwi, Emu, Ostrich, and last one that we all know is the Penguin (this is not including the extinct animals such as the Dodo bird).


The Emu is the largest bird in Australia. The more interesting thing about the Emu is that they are the second-largest extant bird in the world by height! They have brown feathers that feel like silk. The commonly measured height for the Emu is about 6.6 ft. Emu can travel in great distances like they can sprint at 31 mph. They commonly eat on a variety of plants, and insects. When Emus are farmed, they use for their meat, oil and leather.


The Ostrich is a largest flightless bird in Africa. When people think, or see an Ostrich; the most commonly thing the human mind will think is the Ostrich’s long neck, and legs. There maximum speed they can run is about 46 mph. Ostrich’s are the largest living species that lays the largest eggs out of all of the entire bird species. They eat mainly plant, but sometimes they eat insects. Ostriches are nomadic (they like to be in small groups). The group holds about 5 to 50 birds in a group. If a Ostrich is going to be threaten. It would ether hide it self by laying on the ground, run for it’s life, or kick with it’s powerful legs which is very deadly if you get hit. Ostriches are farmed for there feather (to make feather dusters), skin for leather, and there meat.

Kiwi Birds

Kiwi Birds are known to be found in New Zealand. They are the size of a domestic chicken like this picture on top. Kiwi Birds lays larger eggs in comparisons to their body, and they are the smallest living ratites (ratites means to have a flat, unkeeled sternum). The Kiwi Bird has 5 cousins. The Great Spotted Kiwi, Little Spotted Kiwi, Rowi, Tokoeka, and North Island Brown Kiwi. All Kiwi birds including other Kiwi’s species are on the endanger list of species (only about 10,000-20,000 Kiwi Birds left for each cousins).

Penguins (several types)

Penguins are aquatic, and also flightless birds. They have flippers instead of wings mainly because they need to swim to hunt for there food. They mostly feed on krill, fish, squid, and other sea foods that they can catch underwater. One interesting fact about penguins are that they spend half of there lives in water, and on land.  Penguins are not commonly found in Antarctica, but sometimes in the very south tip in Chile. One of the species called the Galápagos Penguins lives near the equator.

Liked it
3 Responses to “What Are the Four Birds in the World That Can’t Fly?”
  1. Brad - NZ Says...

    On August 16, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Uh…there are a lot more than 4 flightless birds. We have more than 4 just here in NZ – not counting the extinct species. A couple other examples: Weka, Kakapo, Takahe.

  2. LanceSlash Says...

    On August 26, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    I got this source from my teacher… sorry about that.

  3. t-snook Says...

    On September 24, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    how fast does a kiwi bird move.

    P.S. I need answers!!!!

Post Comment
comments powered by Disqus