Classification of Protozoa

Protozoa is classified into six phylum. They are Zoomastigophora, Rhizopoda, Apicomplexa, Ciliophora, Foraminifera, and Actinopoda.

Classification of Protozoa
1) Zoomastigophora (Zooflagellata)
All Zooflagellata have at least one flagellum. This versatile organelles can push the organism to move, sense their environment, and ensnare their prey. Zooflagellata very diverse, many of which live freely in soil or water habitats, symbiotic, living in other organisms mutualistic or parasitic relationships. One example of symbiotic mutualism is Triconympha sp. who live in the intestines of termites. Ability Triconympha sp. break down cellulose, giving the ability of termites to eat wood.
2) Rhizopoda (Amoeba)
Rhizopoda have plasma membranes that are flexible and can be spread in either direction, forming pseudopodia (false feet) are used to move and get food. Rhizopoda, known as Amoeba is usually found in lakes or in ponds. Amoeba has no cell organelles that much, as in Zooflagelata or Ciliophora. However, Amoeba has a complex internal structure and has a good ability to perceive and capture prey.
3) Actinopoda (Heliozoa and Radiozoa)
Actinopoda means foot beam. This nomenclature refers to the form of a scatter of spiky pseudopodia Actinopoda body. This type of pseudopodia called axopodia. Axopodia help these organisms float and prey on smaller organisms. Heliozoa generally live in fresh water and uses axopodia for prey, while Radiozoa generally live in the ocean with a shell bersilikat different in each species.
4) Apicomplexa (Sporozoa)
All organisms Apicomplexa, formerly called sporozoa, are parasitic and live inside the body or their host cells. They have the ability to form spores, a permanent structure that spread through food, water, or insect bites. Sporozoa have no means of motion, but contains a complex organelle that helps attach to and invade host. Many members have a complex life cycle. That is why it is called Apicomplexa phylum. One example is the famous Sporozoa causes malaria, is Plasmodium
5) Ciliophora (ciliate)
Members of the phylum Ciliophora are solitary unicellular organisms that generally live in fresh water. Ciliate has a lot of specialized organelles, including the cilia (singular cilium), short hair-like structures outside the body. Cilia may cover the whole body or localized ciliate. In the genus Paramaecium, cilia cover all parts of the body surface. Good coordination in cilia cause them to move quickly, about one millimeter per second. Although it is a single cell, Paramaecium can respond to the surrounding environment as well. If met with hazardous chemicals or barrier, the cell would quickly retreat to the cilia movement toward a different direction.
6) Foraminifera
Foraminifera are protozoa that live in sea water. Members of this phylum are generally living in sand or attach to rocks and algae. However, there are also some of the plankton. Foraminifera have a backup made of calcium carbonate. Of all the species of Foraminifera were identified, 90% is fossil. Foraminifera shells that have become fossilized, the composition of marine sediments.

Liked it
No Responses to “Classification of Protozoa”
Post Comment
comments powered by Disqus